Discuss

last person joined: 11 hours ago 

Ask a question. Give advice. Share resources. Looking for software or hardware recommendations? Want to know how others are using text messaging in their work? Trying to find examples of IT policies? The NTEN Discuss forum is a great resource for all of the above and more! It's the general discussion list for the NTEN community, and folks all over the US (and the world) are sharing their questions, answers, and news about nonprofit technology.

Should I work towards the PMP / CAPM?

• 1.  Should I work towards the PMP / CAPM?

Posted Nov 21, 2016 10:16

Hi All! 

As a young professional, I've slowly made my way into the Project Management role and I absolutely love it. I now work at a large nonprofit in the Atlanta area and my mentor and I are discussing whether or not I should work towards the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM). 

Does anyone have the certification in the nonprofit tech world? Any suggestions? 

Thanks all! 

Samantha

------------------------------
    Samantha Canuel
    Digital Projects Coordinator
    Public Broadcasting Atlanta
    Smyrna, GA
    2020 Nonprofit Technology Conference Logo  w/ Baltimore Skyline

• 2.  RE: Should I work towards the PMP / CAPM?

STAFF
    Posted Nov 22, 2016 11:49

Hey there Samantha. While I am a big fan of project management I myself do not have either certification. However, I do know that Joe Moran who works with True Colors Fund and Beth Spriggs who works with Leadership for Educational Equity both have PMP. Might be a good place to start reaching out :-)

Best,
    Ash

Ash Shepherd
    Education Director
    Nonprofit Technology Network
    ash@nten.org

• 3.  RE: Should I work towards the PMP / CAPM?

Posted Nov 22, 2016 21:32

Hello Samantha!

Thank you for your question!  I would love to get the larger community's opinion on this very subject.