Discuss

last person joined: 3 hours ago 

Ask a question. Give advice. Share resources. Looking for software or hardware recommendations? Want to know how others are using text messaging in their work? Trying to find examples of IT policies? The NTEN Discuss forum is a great resource for all of the above and more! It's the general discussion list for the NTEN community, and folks all over the US (and the world) are sharing their questions, answers, and news about nonprofit technology.

Web-Based Chatbot Recommendations

• 1.  Web-Based Chatbot Recommendations

Posted Apr 26, 2019 17:20
    Hello! This is my first time posting in this community.

I am working on adding a web-based chatbot to my organization's website. The bot will start with fairly simple questions related to advertising on and utilizing our jobs and opportunities board, and evolve to be able to answer more complex questions from individual artists. We plan for the chatbot to be an extension of our phone and email hotline, which an artist of any discipline can contact and ask questions like, "How do I price my artwork," or "I need emergency assistance for artists in a specific area."

Does this group have recommendations on developers/platforms? We are looking into a variety, including IBM's Watson, Live-Person, Aivo, and others. We are hoping that the bot will have sophisticated NLP and be somewhat affordable or open to a non-profit rate. Thank you!

------------------------------
    Mirielle Clifford
    2020 Nonprofit Technology Conference Logo  w/ Baltimore Skyline

• 2.  RE: Web-Based Chatbot Recommendations

Posted Apr 29, 2019 09:04
    We recently had to make this same decision. We're going with Google's DialogFlow (https://dialogflow.com/). I'm optimistic that it'll work out well. The only significant down-side I expect is getting it to work with Siri. Other than that, I think it'll work out well.

Good luck!

Jonathan Leistiko
    Webmaster
    The TexVet Initative
    Round Rock, TX