Drupal

last person joined: 7 days ago 

If you work in an organization using Drupal, or you work with nonprofits using Drupal, this is the group for you. If you work in a nonprofit using Drupal, or you work with nonprofits using Drupal, this is the group for you! Stuck on something? Have a question? Drupal experts are on hand to answer questions! You don't need to be a member of NTEN to participate in the monthly calls — feel free to invite colleagues and spread the word.

Career Advice...

• 1.  Career Advice...

Posted Nov 25, 2018 10:56
    Edited by Kim Teich Nov 26, 2018 04:00

Hello, first an introduction... I am new to NTEN, and I currently work in the private sector in Denver as a C# .NET developer. I am looking to get into a career in a non-profit but I am finding my skills are not as transferable as I had hoped. I see Drupal is a big non-profit CMS tool, I don't know much about it... I know there is lots of Drupal love on this board, but as far as PHP goes, I consider it somewhat of a dying language and I not convinced that is what I should focus on. 

I am thinking of getting into Python/Django... I am aware Django is more of a web framework than a CMS... a bit apples to oranges. But Django can have those CMS capabilities and given that Python is used in data analysis/science, I thought I'd might as well get my feet wet with that as well.

I am just curious what else is out there? Is there any indication that things are trending away from Drupal to something else... A Drupal/PHP boot camp wouldn't hurt, but any advice as to what I should focus on learning to get me started outside of that?

How much software development and support do non-profits typically do in-house? Am I better off looking for a career in companies that write software that support non-profits?