Drupal

last person joined: 9 days ago 

If you work in an organization using Drupal, or you work with nonprofits using Drupal, this is the group for you. If you work in a nonprofit using Drupal, or you work with nonprofits using Drupal, this is the group for you! Stuck on something? Have a question? Drupal experts are on hand to answer questions! You don't need to be a member of NTEN to participate in the monthly calls — feel free to invite colleagues and spread the word.

PHP upgrade issues with Drupal 7?

• 1.  PHP upgrade issues with Drupal 7?

Posted Sep 26, 2018 10:06
    We're getting ready for the PHP upgrade on our Drupal 7 site which is coming on 10/1. I'm testing it on our dev server but I'm not sure what to look for. Has anyone had issues with the upgrade? I'm not a developer, so I don't know what kind of things this affects. I will run my usual tests but it would be helpful to know if others have had issues.

This is the documentation: https://support.acquia.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005438654-Upgrading-from-PHP-56-to-71-or-72

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Mary Gaughan
    FSG
    Boston, MA
    Tech Accelerate

• 2.  RE: PHP upgrade issues with Drupal 7?

Posted Sep 26, 2018 17:22
    Hello, Mary -

A couple ways to tackle this.

1. Test all your functionality. Great if you have good automated test coverage, not so great if a human has to do all this work. Keep an eye on the watchdog log for errors and warnings.

2. Upgrade all your modules to the latest version. Chances are at this point all the modules you're using have been upgraded to deal with deprecated and removed functions - unless you're using unsupported modules. You can rummage through the issue queues for your modules to see what PHP 7 issues have been addressed. Rummaging through the issue queues is a great way to help you focus your testing for point 1 above.

Thanks,

Stephen Musgrave
    Capellic LLC
    Partner
    201-380-2620