Nonprofits and Data

last person joined: 3 days ago 

This group is for those interested in learning and sharing about all things data-related for nonprofits. The Nonprofits and Data group is for people using data to serve a mission, either directly or by improving nonprofits and the nonprofit sector. That includes everything from collecting data and managing databases to analytics, data visualization and data mining. Here are some examples of topics we discuss: using data to improve organizational effectiveness, measuring impact, using data for storytelling, tools for data management and analysis, figuring out the “right” data to collect, and learning skills to help us use data better.

Data Studio - Data Ownership & Privacy Concerns?

• 1.  Data Studio - Data Ownership & Privacy Concerns?

Posted Apr 29, 2019 20:18

Hello all,

This is my first time posting to this group!!! I've been interested for a while and met a number of you at NTC19 in Portland. Excited to hear from everyone's experience.

I'm looking to move our reporting/metrics into a more powerful, automated data analysis tool. I'm looking at Tableau & Google Data Studio right now, mostly because they're inexpensive, accessible, and relatively straightforward. I found this and this old thread, but had some follow up questions. If anyone has experience in this, I'd love to hear from you!

1) Are there any privacy concerns with using Data Studio for data analysis? I'm thinking of plugging it directly into our SQL databases where we keep contact information, volunteer history, engagement activity, potentially donation records, etc.

2) Does Data Studio save data in the cloud? Or does it pull in data via queries every time a report is accessed?

3) Does using Data Studio give Google ownership of any our data?

I'm reading through Data Studio's licensing & agreements, etc, but it's very jargon-y. If anyone has gone through this at their organization, let me know!

------------------------------
    Joe Bobman