2019 Nonprofit Technology Conference NTC

Newbie at NTC -- some questions

• 1.  Newbie at NTC -- some questions

Posted Dec 28, 2018 01:03
    Hello!

I am not exactly new to NTEN, but #19NTC will be my first NTC. Again, I am no newbie to Portland, however, I will be coming to Portland downtown and staying there for the NTC for the first time!! As a woman traveling alone, I also have some questions related to safety and do's and don'ts.

So a few questions --

1. Website shows Hilton Downtown Portland as HQ Hotel. What is "HQ Hotel"? ​How is an HQ Hotel different from other, non-HQ hotels?
    2. How safe is MAX from airport to Downtown/Convention Center on Wednesday or any weekday? Will it be crowded? 
    3. Similarly, when traveling from West side (hotels) to the convention center, how crowded will the MAX be? 
    4. Any tips for traveling on MAX line? 
    5. For the transport between hotel and the conference, how does taking MAX compare to taking Lyft or Uber?
    6. How safe is the downtown to walk over to restaurants/coffee shops etc? 
    Thank you much!!

------------------------------
    Medha Nanal
    Strategic Data/Database Consultant for Nonprofits (Fundraising, Operations, Programs)
    www.topcloudconsult.com
    medhananal@topcloudconsult.com
    Nonprofit Tech Clubs

• 2.  RE: Newbie at NTC -- some questions

STAFF
    Posted Dec 29, 2018 19:16
    So glad that you'll be joining us! As a Portlander and the Conference Director, I think I can respond to many of your questions.

The Hilton Downtown Portland is designated as our headquarter hotel because that's where we have our biggest block of rooms. That's the primary distinguishing feature. Many speakers, sponsors, and NTEN board members will be staying there, so staying there provides opportunities for the "lobby conference" experience. It's recently remodeled and just steps away from the MAX line, so it's aesthetically, socially and geographically advantageous.