WordPress

last person joined: 28 days ago 

A place for nonprofit WordPress developers and content managers of all skill levels.
The WordPress group is an engaged network of WordPress developers and content managers, for all skill levels, by WordPress users for WordPress users, to encourage the usage of and advocate for WordPress.

Our goal: to support nonprofit organizations using (or interested in using) WordPress. Additionally, this is a safe and friendly place for beginning WordPress developers and users to ask questions and connect to like-minded people.

Short link: http://community.nten.org/wordpress

1.  What Method are you using for Image Optimization?

Posted Sep 13, 2016 09:35

WP NTEN Friends,

I am still new to WordPress. I wonder what method are you using for image optimization. You can share links/info and suggestions on the topic. 

Thanks in advance!

Ben

------------------------------
Ben Carp
Embrace NGO

2.  RE: What Method are you using for Image Optimization?

Posted Sep 13, 2016 09:43

Hi Ben,

Personally I optimise images before uploading, using whatever image editing program is to hand.

I've tried training clients to optimise images before uploading - I find the training wears off within weeks.

Smush plugin is keeps file sizes down, but often only shaves off a little.

Offloading media to a CDN works well.

Jason King
WordPress Web Developer
Laure-Minervois
www.kingjason.co.uk

Twitter: @jasoncsking

3.  RE: What Method are you using for Image Optimization?

Posted Sep 13, 2016 11:06
I'm attending WordCamp Pittsburgh this weekend and one of the sessions on my list to attend is about optimizing images for responsive design.  I'll try to take notes and report back if there's anything helpful in that one.

Cindy

Cindy Leonard, Consulting Team Leader
Bayer Center for Nonprofit Management at Robert Morris University, 
339 Sixth Ave, Ste 750, Pgh, PA 15222
p 412-397-6007 | f 412-397-6016 | leonard@rmu.edu | www.bcnm-rmu.org