Nonprofits and Data

last person joined: 13 hours ago 

<strong>This group is for those interested in learning and sharing about all things data-related for nonprofits.</strong> The Nonprofits and Data group is for people using data to serve a mission, either directly or by improving nonprofits and the nonprofit sector. That includes everything from collecting data and managing databases to analytics, data visualization and data mining. Here are some examples of topics we discuss: using data to improve organizational effectiveness, measuring impact, using data for storytelling, tools for data management and analysis, figuring out the “right” data to collect, and learning skills to help us use data better.

1.  Save the Date for Our October 26 Community Call!

Posted Oct 12, 2017 12:39

Back by popular demand: Our next data community call will be on...

  • Thursday, October 26, at 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT/11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. PT.
  • Data Cleanup and Duplicate Management

Help shape the call! Give us your thoughts…

Or you can reply to this post (or reply directly to me), and Janice and I can add them to the list. Note: We are aiming for a 45 minute conversation, so if there are a lot of questions on this topic, we may consolidate similar ones or need to save some for future calls.

I look forward to seeing what questions you all have and getting to chat with you again!

P.S.  There will be two ways to join the call:

  1. Go to our online conference room, add your name and click "Join" or log in. Then click "My Computer" from the audio options menu. Open a separate tab in your browser and open the collaborative notes. OR,
  2. Use 866-853-1888 (no PIN needed) to dial in with a phone line. If your computer is available, open your browser and open the collaborative notes.

Judy Freed
Marketing Strategist, Alliance for the Great Lakes
Co-Organizer, NTEN Nonprofits and Data Community
Chicago, Illinois

2.  RE: Save the Date for Our October 26 Community Call!

Posted Oct 23, 2017 13:45
Looking forward to hearing your voices (and your questions and your wisdom) later this week!  Even if you're not able to join us on Thursday, feel free to add your questions to the collaborative notes under the discussion topics for the October call, and we will take notes on people's suggestions that you can review later. :)

Janice Chan
Co-Organizer, NTEN Nonprofits and Data group
Technical Training Specialist, Development and Alumni Relations
Johns Hopkins Institutions
Baltimore, MD